Bookmark and Share

The Twelve Apostles

Jesus chose twelve disciples at the beginning of his public ministry:
Andrew (the Protoclete)
James (the 'Greater')      
John (the Evangelist)      
James (the 'Less')
Matthew (the tax collector & Evangelist)      
Thomas (the twin)      
Bartholomew (aka Nathaniel)      
Jude and

Also included in the list here is Matthias (who replaced Judas as 1 of the 12).

In 2006 Pope Benedict XVI gave a short series of catecheses on the relationship of Jesus and His Church before speaking in his Wednesday audiences about Jesus' 12 apostles individually.